

# Honors Convocation

Wednesday, March 19, 2025 | 11:00 A.M. (CT) Gus F. Taylor Gymnasium

# **MISSION STATEMENT**

Texas College is a Historically Black College founded in 1894, by the Colored Methodist Episcopal Church, now the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church (CME). Our mission continues to embody the principles of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. The College shall prepare students with competencies in critical and creative thinking related to the knowledge, skills and abilities as defined in the areas of study using different modalities of instruction. Additionally, the College shall provide an environment to inspire intellectual, spiritual, ethical moral and social development, which empowers graduates to engage in life-long learning, leadership, and service. (Restated and approved by the Board of Trustees, October 24, 2024).

# **CORE VALUES**

To address the mission, the College incorporates the core values of:

- Academic Excellence Developing a culture of curiosity and creativity that will challenge the frontiers of teaching/learning; stimulate research; raise the level of analytical reasoning and inquiry; and enable students to acquire leadership, human relations, communication, and technology skills.
- **Integrity** Instilling the pursuit of character, honesty, and sincerity of purpose as the moral rubrics upon which the behaviors of our graduates and College family are anchored.
- **Perseverance** Implanting diligence, enterprise, and pride in the application of skills, knowledge, and abilities developed during the course of study at Texas College.
- **Social Responsibility** Promoting in the College community a conscious awareness that we are all stewards of the resources entrusted to our care.
- **Tolerance** Emphasizing openness to divergent points of view, applying an eclectic approach to rational and analytical thinking.
- **Community Service** Encouraging self-extension in service to others as the heart and soul of our educational enterprise.

### **VISION STATEMENT**

Texas College - a creative, culturally diverse, inclusive environment, preparing students who aspire to be purpose-driven, financially secure and marketable leaders.



# HONORS CONVOCATION PROGRAM

DR. JAN DUNCAN, PRESIDING

MUSICAL PRELUDE		
PROCESSIONAL*		
CALL to ORDER*	V	Dr. Jan Duncan fice President for Academic Affairs
INVOCATION**		Rev. Josef Sorrells Campus Minister
ANTHEMS*	National Anthem: The Star-Spangled Banner	Mr. Thomas Williams-Gibson Director of Bands
	Negro Anthem: Lift Every Voice and Sing	Texas College Choir Mr. Charles Shaw, Director
GREETINGS		Dr. Cynthia Marshall-Biggins Vice President for Student Affairs
OCCASION		Dr. Jan Duncan
MUSICAL SELECTION		Texas College Choir
PRESIDENT'S ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of HONOREES and SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS		President Dwight Fennell
STATEMENT OF SCHOLARLY CRITERIA		Mr. John Roberts Dean of Enrollment Management
PRESENTATION of SCHOLARS		Mr. Mingle Moore Instructor of English
MUSICAL SELECTION		Texas College Choir
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS		President Dwight Fennell
BENEDICTION**		Rev. Josef Sorrells
ALMA MATER*		Audience//Texas College Choir
RECESSIONAL*		

\* AUDIENCE STANDING

**\*\* AUDIENCE SEATED** 

For the safety and protection of all, kindly note that Texas College practices the wearing of face masks and social distancing to best mitigate COVID-19 and other illnesses.

# PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLARS

Ariana Chapa Martel Jones

LaTravion Adams

Gynna Becerra

Jazzmyn Brown

Shelisa Todd Elizabeth Clemente Sheena Thigpen Tyler DeVolder

# **DEAN'S LIST SCHOLARS**

HONOR ROLL SCHOLARS

JohQuan Caldwell Anthony Green Quoteshia Harris Tyler Mitchell Njabulo Nkosi Alexandria Payne- Blount Emiliano Ramirez Charles Shaw Charnae Warren

Frederick Adams Stephen Ajibola Fatima-Ezzahra Akif Aaron Alfaro Saleha Ali Christie Allen Ariel Allen Selvin Anderson Nyah Arredondo Arrey Ayukokata Leila Barco Cruz **Trevion Batiste** Tanya Bell Tyriq Bell Rodolfo Benavides Walid Benchekroune Leonard Bermudez LaToria Blackshire Traiveon Bookman Daiveon Bookman Amaria Boyd KaLiyia Boyd Antonio Bradley Asia Brown Jeremiah Brown Jacques Brown Skylor Brown Trevion Brown Malachi Burrell-Zellars Boy Busby Abisai Cantu Dashannon Carter Leandro Casanovas Fernando Cervantes Victor Chatman Abigail Chavez Percy Chavis III **Destiny Chilton** Matthew Cisnero Wyatt Clark ShaNairia Cleaver Noah Codina Kahera Cook Zane Cory Lauren Cotton Stefan Cotton Warlanden Craig Antanasia Crockett Torey Crozier Montia Cuba Derrick Cuington-Cooper

Angel Cummings Torrey Holly Jakovi Dabbs Rochanda Holman Isaiah Daniels Terrell Hookfin Ethan Davis Braylon Howard Wesley Deleon Kenidi Howard Gregory Donaldson Cam'Ron Hoyte Kenya Doss D E Morris Hunter Dylan DuBois Markayla Hurd Rashaad Dumas Athena Dunham Jakhia Dunn Artis Edwards Nada EL Bouhali Anass EL Moubarki Tyler Evans

Younes Ezzaim

Gibrant Feliciano

Nilesvan Flowers

Terrill Franklin

Johnzay Fulbright

Bryan Funez

Garrett Galyean

Jaylen Garrett

Aisha Gathright

Kyla Gerhardt

Christopher Gibson

Tacorey Gilliam

Jovan Glisic

Lashabroah Govan-

Thomas

Abdennour Gorini

Alexa Gracia

Rummie Gray

Cydney Green

Keith Greenwood

Jennifer Gress

Melissa Gress

Di'Muantrez Haggerty

Aaliyah Hale

Karlnelious Hall

Allison Hampton-

Campbell

Yasser Hamrerras

Kyla Harris

Destiny Hart

Julio Hernandez

Tyesha High

Takeuchi Hiroya

Bao Hoang

Kristopher Hodges

Anthony Holden

Ja'MIa Hutton Christopher Isidore Jalen Jackson Keiera Jackson Levann Jackson **Diangela James** Anayzia Jefferson Tommy Jennings Briana Johnson Brandi Johnson Chelsea Johnson Godfrey Johnson Charnel Jones Christine Jones Genesis Jones Marques Jones **Dejanay** Jones Zerrick Jones Kennetria Jones Paul Karimu Brandon Kanviki Keaundra Kelly Kaleya Kerr-Ervin Jacob Keys Noah Kimbrough Kazdin King Mabebe Kuka Kourtney Lawson Kendrick Lee Taleyia Lee Tamia Lee Stephen Lee Andrea Lemons Madalynn Lewis Ja'Coby Lewis DaVontaye Lewis Xavier Lewis Tyre Lindsey Davis Lockett Zion Long Juan Lopez Julian Lopez Delicia Lott

Markeesha Lumpkin Nizar Mandali Lavonna Mapps Roderick Mapps Undrae Martin Shelby Martin Madalyne Martinez Miguel Martinez Timothy Mast Salise Matlock Kaleb Matthews Alexis McDaniels Jeremy McGee Nylin McGowan Reece McKenzie Marcus McMillan Antone McNair Taryanna McNary Collin Michael Taj Moore Josiah Moore Kenneth Montgomery Latanya Morris Rodney Motley Malebo Mthembu Mathilde Mujawabera Andre Nascimento Eric Ndayambaje Isaiah Neguse DeNadria Nelson-Prescott Eugene Newsome Gregory Nobles Elochukwu Nwodo Peggy Odom Donnie Oliney Jose Olvera Alicia Orange Keala Ousley - Burdette Wisdom Owens Quentin-Bernard Packson-Enaierho Daneesha Parker Ashley Patterson Franklin Peña Matthew Pennywell Leila Polite Jordan Price Jose Pulido Tyler Pyburn Canya Ray Taha Redouane

Lucas Reyes Castillo Joshua Robertson Brianna Robinson Ntibanyiha Rodrige Ne'khyria Rogers Jonathan Romero Jaaliyah Ruff Honore Jared Runnels Katherine Salas Marcos Salazar Jorge San Miguel Marlyn Sanchez Asia Sanders Yazmin Saucedo Philip Scott Joshual Sheridan Khalva Simmons Nicholas Smith Elijah Smith Mariah Smith Neani Stewart Kamren Stiggers **Dominic Stokes** Dominy Taylor **Rishon Taylor** Tre'vion Talley Mia Teran Gabrielle Thomas-Brice Deja Thompson Ivan Torres Chiemela Uzoigwe Samuel Vargas Pelaez Andrea Vasquez Aboubacar Wague Semaj Walker-Blaylock Jayla Warren Quinteria Warren Stephani White Jordan Williams Bryce Williams Markayla Williams **Roosevelt Williams** Tyler Williams Lyriic Williams Ladeshia Willis Blayke Yeager Ja'Taivia Yorks Kentrell Young Edwin Zuniga

#### CuJuan Dail