Dr. Mamta Gupta Named Division Chair

Monday, January 29, 2024
Share On:

Texas College is pleased to announce the appointment of Mamta Gupta, Ph.D. as the new Division Chair for Natural and Computational Sciences. Dr. Gupta has served the College as a valued member of the faculty for over two decades, with service in roles inclusive of Professor of Biology and Area Coordinator for Biology. Congruently, she also serves as a co-advisor for the Texas College - University of Texas at Tyler School of Medicine Early Assurance Pathway, a collaborative program designed to engage Texas College students in high-caliber preparation for medical school, as well as the admission process. Dr. Gupta brings a wealth of experience in research, publication, and grantsmanship.

Dr. Gupta received the Bachelor of Science degree from Maharshi Dayanand University in India. She then pursued and successfully earned the Master of Science degree in Zoology and the Doctor of Philosophy degree in Zoology from Kurukshetra University in India. Following the completion of her Ph.D, Dr. Gupta embraced her passion for teaching and entered the realm of higher education. Carrying international experience as a faculty member, Dr. Gupta has authored numerous research papers and been honored with a multitude of awards for her service within the field.

Dr. Gupta is excited to assume the role of Division Chair for Natural and Computational Sciences. "Give the people light and they will find their way," noted Dr. Gupta, nonchalantly quoting the Texas College motto. In this sentiment, Dr. Gupta expressed her unwavering commitment to fostering a stimulating learning environment and the enhanced development of critical thinking skills to empower students to achieve academic excellence. Summarily, she eagerly looks forward to further elevating the sciences and education of students.

Dr. Gupta is married with two sons. Outside of academia, she enjoys spending time with family, hiking, and biking with friends. Texas College excitedly welcomes Rev. Sorrells Mamta Gupta as Division Chair for Natural and Computational Sciences!